top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePlasticK Tv

Early 20th Century Fashion: Is It Back In Style?



Women's fashion changed considerably between 1900 and 1910. The fashions of 1900 were characterized by an S-shaped silhouette that was achieved mainly by a boned corset that was long and rigid in front and shorter at the rear. The costume was portrayed to appear feminine, overdecorated with flounces and lace, frills, and embroidery.


Now, the fashion world has taken this idea and used it to implement the fashion world we know today. This form of fashion is something we call today the "Mean Girl" or "Rich Girl" look. It is a trend that is mostly worn by women, but men who are fluid in their fashion also practice this form of fashion. Major brands such as Chanel use the idea of 20th century styled clothing within their collections.


My favorite influencer that dresses this way would have to be Prince. From the ruffled blouses to the tweed high-waisted pants, Prince always dressed in 20th-century style clothing.


Since I am fluid in the way I dress, I also implement 20th-century style pieces in my wardrobe. I own a white ruffled blouse that I wear occasionally with different bottoms such as high waist black pants or pink tweed shorts. I also add a blazer over it, with a corset and a Chanel broach to add a little razzle-dazzle to my outfit. I think the 20th century is my favorite period of clothing because it sets me apart from everyone, especially as a black man.


3 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page